VFX Marvel Studios announces humongous 'Phase 4' line-up

Marvel Studios announces humongous ‘Phase 4’ line-up

Good news for Marvel fans! 

Marvel Studios has announced its ‘Phase 4’ lineup of movies and series during their presentation at San Diego Comic-Con. Marvel Studios head Kevin Feige announced the diverse line-up which will include (Marvel Cinematic Universe) MCU’s first Asian superhero movie, MCU’s first deaf superhero and the reveal of the first openly queer superhero.

The list of films announced include: Thor: Love and Thunder, Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 3, Black Widow, The Eternals, Doctor Strange 2, Black Panther 2, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Blade and series like – Loki, Wanda Vision, Hawkeye, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, and What If…?, the first animated series in MCU to be streaming on Disney+.

Fiege began the panel by introducing the diverse cast of The Eternals, directed by Chloe Zhao. The lineup includes Angelina Jolie, Salma Hayek, Brian Tyree Henry, Kumail Nanjani and Richard Madden, all playing one family. Joining them will be actor Lauren Ridloff, who will play the first deaf character in the MCU in that movie.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings will see Marvel’ first Asian superhero film starring Canadian actor Simu Liu as a master of martial arts who faces off against The Mandarin-played by veteran actor Tony Leung.

The fourth Thor movie, Thor: Love and Thunder will find Tessa Thompson’s Valkyrie, ruler of Asgard, come out as a queer character. 

Oscar-winner Mahershala Ali will reboot Blade, once made immortal by Wesley Snipes. In the last few years, Marvel has introduced a more varied array of comics characters to the Avengers crew, including Black Panther and Captain Marvel, the first black lead and female lead in an MCU movie, respectively.

Now they’re offering correctives: Giving Black Widow her own movie, evolving Thompson and Portman’s characters into leads instead of supporting players, retconning the Mandarin character.

Here’s a list of MCU’s release schedule :

1 May 2020: Black Widow

Fall, 2020: Untitled

6 November, 2020: The Eternals

12 February 2021: Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Spring, 2021: WandaVision (Disney+ series)

7 May, 2021: Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Spring, 2021: Loki (Disney+ series)

Summer, 2021: Untitled

Fall, 2021: The Falcon and Winter Soldier (Disney+ series)

5 November, 2021: Thor 4: Love and Thunder