Dingle 2020 was a success digitally, despite Covid-19 concerns

Animation Dingle 2020 was cancelled due to Covid-19 concerns, but the 2020 YouTube Kids Animation Dingle Student Awards still took place digitally via a live-stream. Students across the globe participated in categories for Best Irish, Best International and Best Director titles.  Katie Elger took home for Life in Plastic took home the prestigious award for the Young Animator of the Year competition, sponsored by Disney Channels. Silver went to Save Our Souls by Aaron Gillespie from Summerhill College, and Bronze went to Starfish by Kellie Flaherty. The awards were judged by  RTE head of children’s young people’s programming Suzanne Kelly; RTE executive producer of children’s and young people’s programming Eimear O’Mahony; Viacom International Media Networks kids in UK & Ireland VP of programming Louise Bucknole; Turner EMEA Kids VP of programming and content strategy, acquisitions and production international Cecilia Persson; Aardman Animation co-founder and creative director Peter Lord; Brown Bag Films and 9 Story Media Group group creative director Darragh O’Connell; Cartoon Network VP Nicole Rivera; and JAM Media head of development Chris Dicker. The complete list of Animation Dingle Student Awards is below: Best Irish, Sponsored by RTE Beekeeper, Robyn Conroy, (IADT) Best International- Sponsored by CBBC Shergar, Cora McKenna, (Denmark) Best Director- Sponsored by Brown Bag Films Home, Méabh Gilheany & Rhea Hanlon, (Ulster University) Best Writer- Sponsored by Darrell Macqueen How to Rob a Witch, Liam Fahy, (IADT) Best Design/Art Direction- Sponsored by JAM Media Outside the box, Janet Grainger, (Colaiste Dhulaigh) Best Animation – Sponsored by Milkshake Fish for Life, Kerstin Blätterbinder, Lisa Gierlinger, Lukas Mathä, Victoria Wolfersberger, (Austria) Best 2D- Sponsored by Cartoon Saloon How to Rob a Witch, Liam Fahy, (IADT) Best 3D/CGI- Sponsored by Boulder Media Don’t Croak, Daun Kim, (Ringling College of Art and Design, United States) Best Stop Motion – Sponsored by Aardman Animations Daughter, Daria Kashcheeva, (Czech Republic) Best Music/Sound Design – Sponsored by Enterprise Ireland Legend Has It, Ciara Johnson, (BCFE) Inaugural Best Sting – Sponsored by EGG Post Productions In Pursuit of BigFoot, Eoin O’ Keane (LYIT) Inaugural Best Irish Professional Short – Sponsored by Lighthouse Studios An Gadhar Dubh, Director Padraig Fegan, Paper Panther Productions