Animago Awards 2018 nominees announced

The nominees for the 2018 Animago Awards have been announced. An independent jury of experts sifted through nearly 900 submissions from 61 countries to find the final 36 nominees for the Animago’s 12 categories. The 2018 Animago Awards will be held on 25 October 2018 during the Animago Conference (25-26th October 2018) at Munich Gasteig Cultural Centre. The Animago Award is an international competition aimed at creatives from all around the world who are invited to submit their work in the realms of 3D Animation and still, visual effects, visualisation and AR/VR/360°. The Animago conference offers a programme of keynote addresses, lectures and workshops that serve to connect the creative community with an audience of international experts and film and media enthusiasts. Here are the nominated projects of the Animago Award 2018: Best Feature Film (public voting)
  • Avengers: Infinity War Marvel Studios, Walt Disney Pictures, USA
  • Jim Knopf und Lukas der LokomotivführerRat Pack Filmproduktion, Malao Film, Studio Babelsberg, Warner Bros., Germany
  • Ready Player OneAmblin Entertainment, De Line Pictures, Dune Entertainment, Farah Films & Management, Reliance Entertainment, Village Roadshow Pictures, Warner Bros., USA
Best VR/AR/360°
  • Conscious ExistenceMarc Zimmermann, Felix Fahle, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • HuxleyExit Adventures, Sven Haeberlein, Germany
  • LEGO News Show: Into the wildFuel new media, Paul Schlichter, Germany for LEGO Group
Best Still
  • Albert EinsteinLotusArt, Alexander Beim, Germany
  • NööburgringPiotr Tatar, Poland
  • RubikonChristian Behrendt, Germany
Best Visual Effects
  • Babylon BerlinRISE | Visual Effects Studios, Germany for X-Filme
  • Die VFX-Welten von Jim KnopfTrixter, RISE | Visual Effects Studios, Scanline VFX, Mackevision Medien Design, Chimney, Germany for Rat Pack, Warner Bros. and Malao Film
  • Game of Thrones Season 7Rodeo FX, Canada for HBO
Best Game Cinematic
  • Hearth and HomeBlizzard Entertainment, Jeramiah Johnson, Taka Yasuda, David Satchwell, Jake Patton, USA
  • Beyond Good & Evil 2 E3 2018 TrailerUnit Image, Franche for Ubisoft Montpellier
  • Overkill’s The Walking Dead – GrantGoodbye Kansas Studios, Sweden for Starbreeze Studios & Overkill Software
Best Short Film
  • MecanicJulia Baurens, Sofia Bernardo, Naïti Escot, Nicolas Jacomet, Ariane Lissajoux, Antoine Verney-Carron, ESMA, France
  • Tweet-TweetCGF, Zhanna Bekmambetova, Russia
  • The Bolt ConnectionNicolas Lebas, Claire Cartier, Mathilde Dourdy, Thibault Grunenberger, Maurine Lecerf, Shih-Hui Pan, Supinfocom Rubika, France
Best Advertising Production
  • ASN Bank – Day FlyAmbassadors VFX, Vincent Lammers, The Netherlands for ASN Bank
  • EnBW – Guter StoffSehsucht for Jung von Matt, EnBW, Germany
  • 2018 FIFA World Cup Drone Film – Budweiser- Blacksmith, Jake Scott, USA for Budweiser
Best Character
  • HybridsFlorian Brauch, Matthieu Pujol, Kim Tailhades, Yohan Thireau, Romain Thirion, MOPA, France
  • The green birdPierre Perveyrie, Maximilien Bougeois, Marine Goalard, Irina Nguyen-Duc, Quentin Dubois, MOPA, France
  • The BoxBugbrain Institute for Animation, Dušan Kastelic, Mateja Stari , Slovenia
Best Visualisation
  • Martin Luther – A most precise and nuanced look into the life of the man legend and visionaryTumblehead Animation Studio, Magnus Igland Møller, Denmark
  • Plastic OceanFred & Farid New York, Laurent Leccia, Michael Hess, USA for Sea Shepherd
  • Peta Best friend, Mackevision Medien Design, Germany
Best Young Production (carries prize money contributed by DIGITAL PRODUCTION totaling €3,000)
  • Hors Piste Léo Brunel, Loris Cavalier, Camille Jalabert, Oscar Mallet, Ecole des Nouvelles Images, France
  • Wild LovePaul Autric, Quentin Camus, Maryka Laudet, Léa Georges, Zoé Sottiaux, Corentin Yvergniaux, Ecole des Nouvelles Images, France
  • The Stained ClubMélanie Lopez, Simon Boucly, Marie Ciesielski, Alice Jaunet, Chan Stéphie Peang, Béatrice Viguier, Supinfocom Rubika, France
Best Motion Design
  • You Are Wanted / Season 2 Opener , Delirium Entertainment, Andy Bittner, Germany for PANTALEON Films
  • The Division 2 – Der Untergang von Washington D.C , Antibody, Patrick Clair for Ubisoft, Germany
  • The Unconquered , Juice, Micha Misi ski, Polen for Instytut Pami ci Narodowej
Jury’s Prize
    • Mayday – Final Chapter Grass Jelly Studio, Taiwan for Mayday, B’in Music
    • La NoriaNightWheel Pictures, Carlos Baena, Spain
    • Miazmat- Platige Image, Klaudiusz Wesolowski, Poland
The submitted works are viewed and evaluated by an independent jury of experts. Hamburg-based graphic designer and freelance editor Günter Hagedorn, who has managed the Animago competition since it was founded 21 years ago, acts as head of the jury. This year’s jury members are: character animator and filmmaker Melanie Beissswenger (Happy Feet, Happy Feet 2, Iron Man 3), JUNG VON MATT chief production officer Alexander Bouquet, Digital Film Design HOD at Mediadesign Hochschule, Munich, Thomas Gronert, Digital Production editor-in-chief Tobias Hager, the graphic and motion designer Elisa Krenz, Liga 01 CEO Sarah Neuner, 3DExcite director marketing tranformations Tim Rau, 3D Generalist and VFX Supervisor Tom Sporer and Aixsponza Senior 3D Matthias Zabiegly. This year’s guest jurors also include Bavarian State Chancellery director of the Department of film/game policy and funding Daniel Curio and, Culture and the Creative Industries head of Munich’s expert team Jürgen Korbinian Enninger.