The ‘Mandalorian’ bags Emmys on Night Three of Creative Arts Ceremonies (Full Winners List)

An Emmy Statue is seen during

  Speaking of space in the sun, At CII Summit FX, Epic Games GM of India and SEA operations Quentin Staes-Polet had recounted how Mandalorian director Jon Favreau encapsulated the essence of virtual production by saying that he now doesn’t have to worry about the sun setting as he can shoot any number of hours in the sun as he pleases. 
Such is the potential of Unreal Engine that Baby Yoda aka The Child is now a major awards winner: “The Mandalorian,” which has singlehandedly placed its brand-new streamer Disney Plus on the Emmys’ map this year with 15 overall nominations, picking up its first statues at the Creative Arts ceremony on Wednesday night. “The Mandalorian” picked up special visual effects, sound editing, sound mixing, production design and cinematography awards during the third of five nights designed to hand out the 72nd Annual artisans’ awards (also the first night in which scripted categories made an appearance). These five awards see the “Star Wars” universe-set drama leading the pack for the most awards from voters for the year. The Creative Arts ceremonies are produced by Bob Bain Prods. and consist of 100 awards being handed out over the five nights. The final night of Emmys events for the year is Sunday, Sept. 20, when the above-the-line Primetime Awards are handed out live at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on ABC. Jimmy Kimmel will host and executive produce that live broadcast from the Staples Center in Downtown Los Angeles, while winners will be at home and on location around the world, ready to deliver acceptance speeches live. In contrast, the Creative Arts’ winners self-taped and pre-recorded acceptance speeches, with the Television Academy promising not to release any videos other than the ones from the winners. Most of those pre-recorded speeches Wednesday were pretty straight-forward, thanking the Academy, family and colleagues. But the makeup team from “Star Trek: Picard” used their time, in part, to mention that new Academy rules meant 10 important female members were left off the ballot, and they wanted to call out that they “stand with women.” Here are Wednesday’s nominees and winners: Outstanding Special Visual Effects “Lost In Space” Episode: “Ninety-Seven” (Netflix) Jabbar Raisani, senior visual effects supervisor Terron Pratt, visual effects producer Marion Spates, visual effects supervisor Niklas Jacobson, visual effects supervisor Andrew Walker, visual effects supervisor Juri Stanossek, visual effects supervisor Dirk Valk, Previs supervisor Blaine Lougheed, on-set visual effects supervisor Paul Benjamin, special effects coordinator *WINNER* “The Mandalorian” Episode: “Chapter 2: The Child” (Disney Plus) Richard Bluff, VFX supervisor Jason Porter, VFX supervisor Abbigail Keller, VFX producer Hayden Jones, VFX supervisor Hal Hickel, animation supervisor Roy Cancino, special effects supervisor John Rosengrant, supervisor Enrico Damm, environment supervisor Landis Fields, virtual production visualization supervisor “Stranger Things” Episode: “Chapter Eight: The Battle Of Starcourt” (Netflix) Paul Graff, senior visual effects supervisor Gayle Busby, visual effects producer Tom Ford, visual effects producer Michael Maher Jr., senior concept illustrator Martin Pelletier, visual effects supervisor Berter Orpak, visual effects supervisor Yvon Jardel, animation supervisor Nathan Arbuckle, lead FX Caius Man, special effects coordinator “Watchmen” Episode: “See How They Fly” (HBO) Erik Henry, VFX supervisor Matt Robken, VFX producer Ashley J. Ward, VFX production David Fletcher, SPFX soordinator Mathieu Raynault, VFX supervisor, Raynault FX Bobo Skipper, VFX supervisor, ILP – Important Looking Pirates Ahmed Gharraph, VFX supervisor, Framestore London Emanuel Fuchs, VFX supervisor, Mackevision Francois Lambert, VFX supervisor, Hybride “Westworld” Episode: “Crisis Theory” (HBO) Jay Worth, VFX supervisor Martin Hernblad, VFX supervisor Jeremy Fernsler, VFX supervisor Nhat Phong Tran, VFX supervisor Joe Wehmeyer, on-set VFX supervisor Mark Byers, SPFX supervisor Bruce Branit, on-set VFX supervisor Octevia Robertson, VFX coordinator Jacqueline VandenBussche, VFX production manager Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Supporting Role “Devs” Episode 8 (FX on Hulu) Andrew Whitehurst, VFX supervisor Sarah Tulloch, VFX producer Anne Akande, VFX producer [DNEG] Samantha Townend, VFX co-producer Giacomo Mineo, on-set VFX supervisor [DNEG] Tom Hales, CG supervisor [DNEG] George Kyparissous, FX supervisor [DNEG] Stafford Lawrence, animation supervisor [DNEG] Jon Uriarte, lead compositor [DNEG] “The Handmaid’s Tale” Episode: “Household” (Hulu) Stephen Lebed, VFX producer Brendan Taylor, VFX supervisor Leo Bovell, VFX supervisor Rob Greb, compositing supervisor Gwen Zhang, senior compositor Marlis Coto, compositor Stephen Wagner, lead FX artist Josh Clark, CG supervisor James Minett, CG lead artist “Tales From The Loop” Episode: “Loop” (Amazon Prime Video) Andrea Knoll, visual effects producer Ashley Bernes, visual effects supervisor Eduardo Anton, compositing supervisor Julien Hery, visual effects supervisor, Rodeo FX Laurent Pancaccini, CG supervisor, Rodeo FX Andrew Kowbell, lead compositor, Rodeo FX Alan Scott, special effects supervisor, Legacy Effects David Piombino, compositing supervisor, Moving Picture Company Rajesh Kaushik, lead compositor, Moving Picture Company “Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan” Episode: “Strongman” (Amazon Prime Video) Erik Henry, senior visual effects supervisor Juliette Yager, visual effects producer Peter Crosman, on-set visual effects supervisor Pau Costa Moeller, special effects supervisor Paige Prokop, visual effects coordinator Deak Ferrand, visual effects art director, Rodeo FX Francois Lambert, visual effects supervisor, Hybride Inc. Jesper Kjolsrud, visual effects supervisor, Goodbye Kansas Richard Vosper-Carey, 3D artist *WINNER* “Vikings” Episode: “The Best Laid Plans” (History) Dominic Remane, visual effects supervisor Bill Halliday, visual effects producer Becca Donohue, visual effects producer Leann Harvey, on-set visual effects supervisor Tom Morrison, CG supervisor Ovidiu Cinazan, lead compositor Jim Maxwell, lead matte painter Ezra Waddell, lead massive crowd artist Warren Lawtey, FX lead Outstanding Cinematography for a Limited Series or Movie “Defending Jacob” Episode: “After” (Apple TV Plus) Jonathan Freeman, ASC, director of photography “Devs” Episode 7 (FX on Hulu) Rob Hardy, BSC, director of photography “The Plot Against America” Episode: “Part 1” (HBO) Martin Ahlgren, director of photography “Watchmen” Episode: “Little Fear of Lighting” (HBO) Xavier Grobet, ASC, AMC, director of photography *WINNER* “Watchmen” Episode: “This Extraordinary Being” (HBO) Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC, director of photography Outstanding Cinematography for a Multi-camera Series “Bob Hearts Abishola” Episode: “Ice Cream For Breakfast” (CBS) Patti Lee, ASC, director of photography “Family Reunion” Episode: “Remember Black Elvis?” (Netflix) John Simmons, ASC, director of photography It is clear that Virtual Production is indeed the sleeping giant on the horizon whose roar is going to engulf the filmmaking space soon.