Marlee Matlin, Jason Reitman named in Academy’s 2022-23 Board of Governors list

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced its newly elected 2022–2023 Board of Governors. The governors will take office at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term.

The members elected to the board for the first time are multiple award-winning actor Marlee Matlin, director Jason Reitman, producer Jason Blum, cinematographer Dion Beebe, casting director Richard Hicks and film editor Nancy Richardson. Others who made it to the board this time are producer Jason Blum, Chris Hegedus from documentary branch, Megan Colligan from marketing and public relations, Missy Parker from production design branch

Marlon West from short films and feature animation branch, Peter Devlin from sound branch and Paul Debevec from visual effects branch.

The incumbent governors who are re-elected to the board includes Ruth E. Carter from costume designers branch, Donna Gigliotti from executives Branch, Howard Berger from makeup artists and hairstylists Branch and Eric Roth from writers branch. Veteran music composer Charles Fox returns to the board after a hiatus.

They will join returning governors Pam Abdy, Kate Amend, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Charles Bernstein, Susanne Bier, Jon Bloom, Gary C. Bourgeois, Rob Bredow, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Eduardo Castro, Bill Corso, Teri E. Dorman, Tom Duffield, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Whoopi Goldberg, Lynette Howell Taylor, Larry Karaszewski, Laura C. Kim, Christina Kounelias, David Linde, Isis Mussenden, Stephen Rivkin, Howard A. Rodman, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Wynn P. Thomas, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Mandy Walker, Rita Wilson, Janet Yang and Debra Zane.

As a result of this election, the Board comprises 54 per cent women and 28 per cent belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

The 17 branches of the Academy are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms, for a lifetime maximum of 12 years. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organisation’s financial health, and assures the fulfilment of its mission.