Animation Ireland announce nomination for upcoming Irish Animation Awards

Animation Ireland has released its list of nominees for the third Irish Animation Awards, taking place in Dingle, Republic of Ireland, home to the Dingle Film Festival and Animation Dingle, on Saturday, 23 March 2019. Animation Ireland also expressed gratitude towards everyone involved throughout the nomination process in an official statement that read: “We would like to express our gratitude to the esteemed IAA judging panel for generously giving their time and expertise, and helping us on our mission to celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish animation, VFX and gaming industries. We also have judges from two National Schools who are currently deliberating on the ‘Kids Choice Awards’- this shortlist will be available in the coming weeks! Congratulations to all the nominees-we wish them the very best of luck!” The awards are sponsored by RTÉ, Screen Ireland, Animation Skillnet, Philip Lee, Celaction, Screen Skills Ireland, Brophy Gillespie and Gorilla Post. The list of nominees is as follows: Best Animated Preschool Series (up to six years) Claude – Sixteen South Doc McStuffins Christmas Special – Brown Bag Films Pablo: Back and Forth – Paper Owl Films Pete the Cat: Sandcastles – Amazon/Cartoon Saloon Vampirina: Going Batty – Brown Bag Films Best Animated Short Film The Overcoat – Sean Mullen/Giant Animation Angela’s Christmas – Damien O’Connor/Brown Bag Films The Wireman – Jessica Patterson/JAM Media Late Afternoon – Louise Bagnall/Cartoon Saloon The Bird and the Whale – Carol Freeman/Paper Panther   Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to six years) Becca’s Bunch: Acorn King – Amy Stephenson and Shane Langan Claude – Ciarán Morrison and Mick O’Hara/Sixteen South Peek Zoo – Emma Hogan/Dream Logic Studios Mya Go Karting – Amy Stephenson and Shane Langan/Piranha Bar Doc McStuffins Christmas Special – Chris Nee, Brown Bag Films Best Writer for an Animated Series Space Chickens in Space: Food Fight – Kristina Yee/Gingerbread Animation Space Chickens in Space: Alpha Chuck – Mike Heneghan/Gingerbread Animation Space Chickens in Space: Floofy Flibby Kiss-Kiss – Ciarán Morrison and Mick O’Hara/Gingerbread Animation Transformers Cyberverse: Megatron Is My Hero – Peter Di Cicco/Boulder Media Vampirina: Home Scream Home – Chris Nee/Brown Bag Films Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film Becca’s Bunch – Niall Mooney, Marc Bell, Mark Byrne/JAM Media Brain Freeze 3 – Ian ‘Benjamin’ Kenny/ Kite Entertainment, Turnip and Duck Space Chickens in Space – Paul Ruttledge/Gingerbread Animation Cúl an Tí: Laoi an Lagáin – Lily Bernard and Cúl an Tí team/Cartoon Saloon Pete The Cat: Blackout! – Amazon/Cartoon Saloon Best Animation for Apps, Gaming and Interactive Aurora – Pink Kong Studios Eden Isle: Resort Paradise – Simteractive Get Curious – Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Hungry Caterpillar Play School -Touchpress Pablo’s Art World Adventure – Paper Owl Films Best Design and Art Direction The Bird and the Whale – Carol Freeman/Paper Panther Productions Cúl An Tí: Fé Blath – Ross Stewart/Cartoon Saloon Deposits -Trevor Courtney/Igloo Animations Becca’s Bunch: Legendary – Conor Finnegan, Francisco de Borja Espana Guillot, Niall Mooney, Rafa Diaz Canales/ JAM Media Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes – Hugh Farley and Ian Kenny Best Director of an Animated TV Series Danger Mouse – Aidan McAteer and Rob Cullen/ Boulder Media Littlest Pet Shop – Gillian Comerford/Boulder Media Peek Zoo – Kealan O’Rourke/Dream Logic Studios Space Chickens in Space – Tommy and Markus Vad Flaaten/Gingerbread Animation The Day Henry Met – Gary Gill/Wiggleywoo Best Animation Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes – Hugh Farley and Ian Kenny Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree – Tim Frost/Ink and Light and Kinomind Films Pete the Cat – John Peavoy, Dave Ridges, John Walsh/Cartoon Saloon The Bird and the Whale – Eimhin McNamara and Carol Freeman/Paper Panther Vampirina: Acrobat Boris – Matteo Ceccotti/Brown Bag Films Team The third Irish Animation Awards will take place on 23 March 2019.