2019 honorees for individual achievement in animation announced by TV Academy

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has announced the honorees for outstanding achievement in animation who will be honored at the fourty-sixth Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Friday, 3 May 2019 as the presentation is set to take place at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Southern California. “The incredible leaps in innovation and production design of these animators continues to show the life, breadth and growth of this evolving craft,” said NATAS president and CEO Adam Sharp. “The category of Individual Achievement in Animation is a Juried Award,” said NATAS Daytime Emmy Awards executive director Brent Stanton. “A panel of experienced judges composed of animation professionals determine the excellence of submissions from individuals who work in the various craft areas: Character Design, Storyboard, Art Direction/Production Design, Background Design, Layout and Color and Character Animation. Entrants submit their work from a single episode. “There can be one, more than one, or no recipients, depending on the level of excellence.” The following six individuals have been chosen for the honor: Character Design Kal Athannassov – Crow: The Legend, Baobab Studios Production Design Cody Gramstad – Crow: The Legend, Baobab Studios Alan Bodner – Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventures, Disney Channel Background Design Brian Woods – Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventures, Disney Channel Storyboard Kevin Wotton – Spirit Riding Free, Netflix Character Animator Yizhou Li – Tumble Leaf, Amazon Prime Video The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards and The Daytime Emmy Awards recognise outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television.