Skyesports Champions Series phase two’s draw show called ‘Twist of Fate’ to happen on 17 May

After an exciting open qualifier in the Skyesports Champions Series (SCS), all 12 Valorant teams in phase two, the Group Stage League, have been locked in. Four teams have qualified through phase one while the remaining eight teams have been invited from the Valorant Champions Tour (VCT) South Asia Playoffs stage one. 

The Group Stage League will take place from 19 May to 24 June and the 12 teams will be divided into two groups of six teams each. To divide the teams, Skyesports is bringing a unique draw show which will be broadcasted live on the Skyesports YouTube channel on 17 May from 6:30 pm IST onwards.

The draw show is called the Twist of Fate, an indication of how crucial it is to teams, and will be hosted by Ranjit “MambaSR” Patel. There will be familiar guests making an appearance as well. The 12 teams will be split into three pools of four teams each for the Draw Show. These are as follows:

Pool A

Top four teams from the VCT South Asia Playoffs Stage 1. 

  • Velocity Gaming (India)

  • Global Esports (India)

  • Enigma Gaming (India)

  • Full Power Gaming (Pakistan)

Pool B

Teams placed fifth to eighth in the VCT South Asia Playoffs Stage 1

  • Revenant Esports (India)

  • Exceeli Esports (Bangladesh)

  • Khumbu Esports (Nepal)

  • Union Gaming (Sri lanka)

Pool C

The four teams qualified through the SCS India and Rest of South Asia Qualifiers. 

  • Team Valor (India)

  • Orangutan (South Asia)

  • Reckoning Esports (India)

  • Prime 5 (Pakistan)

Chief guests invited to the draw show will randomly pick teams from one pool at a time. The team first picked will go into Group A while the second picked team will go into Group B and so on. The order of pools for the Draw Show will be as follows: Pool C > Pool B > Pool A. At the end, the 12 teams will be divided into two groups of six teams each. 

“The draw show is a unique concept for South Asian Valorant esports and will ensure more transparency to the teams and fans in the group selection process. I wish all the teams the very best of luck as they head into the crucial Phase 2,” said Skyesports CEO and founder Shiva Nandy. 

From 19 May to 24 May, the teams in the Group Stage League will compete in a single round-robin format within their respective groups. The top three teams will advance to Phase 3, the SCS Playoffs. The SCS Playoffs will happen as a grand LAN event in Chennai, India from 31 May to 5 June. The top two teams from the playoffs will qualify for the VCT Stage 2 APAC Challenger.

The Skyesports Champions Series is a top-level Valorant league in South Asia that leads into the VCT 2022 Stage 2. Skyesports has partnered with Riot Games to conduct the competition for the South Asia region. It’s presented by semiconductor manufacturer AMD and powered by  game streaming platform, Rooter.