Academy announced 2022 Student Academy Award winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has voted 14 students as winners of the 49th Student Academy Awards competition. This year, the Student Academy Awards competition received a total of 1,796 entries from 614 colleges and universities around the world. The 2022 winners join the ranks of such past Student Academy Award winners as Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, Spike Lee, Patricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis.

The winners are:


Olivia Peace, Against Reality, University of Southern California


Laika & Nemo– Jan Gadermann and Sebastian Gadow, Konrad Wolf Film University of Babelsberg, Germany

An Ostrich Told Me the World Is Fake and I Think I Believe It– Lachlan Pendragon,  Griffith Film School, Australia

The Seine’s Tears – Yanis Belaid, Eliott Benard and Nicolas Mayeur, Pôle 3D Digital and Creative School, France


Found- Shuhao Tse, New York University

Here to Stay– Jared Peraglia, New York University

Seasons- Gabriella Canal and Michael Fearon, Columbia University


Almost Home– Nils Keller, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany

Rooms – Welf Reinhart, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany

Shedding Angels – Freddy Macdonald, American Film Institute

All Student Academy Award-winning films are eligible to compete for 2022 Oscars in the Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film or Documentary Short Film category. Past winners have gone on to receive 65 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 14 awards.

For the first time since 2019, students will participate in an in-person award ceremony on Thursday, 20 October, at 7:30 pm, at the David Geffen Theater in Los Angeles.  The medal placements – gold, silver and bronze – in the four award categories will be announced at the ceremony.

buy windows 11 pro test ediyorum