February 8-2019
Animation Ireland announce nomination for upcoming Irish Animation Awards

Animation Ireland has released its list of nominees for the third Irish Animation Awards, taking place in Dingle, Republic of Ireland, home to the Dingle Film Festival and Animation Dingle, on Saturday, 23 March 2019.

Animation Ireland also expressed gratitude towards everyone involved throughout the nomination process in an official statement that read: “We would like to express our gratitude to the esteemed IAA judging panel for generously giving their time and expertise, and helping us on our mission to celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish animation, VFX and gaming industries. We also have judges from two National Schools who are currently deliberating on the ‘Kids Choice Awards’- this shortlist will be available in the coming weeks! Congratulations to all the nominees-we wish them the very best of luck!”

The awards are sponsored by RTÉ, Screen Ireland, Animation Skillnet, Philip Lee, Celaction, Screen Skills Ireland, Brophy Gillespie and Gorilla Post.

The list of nominees is as follows:

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to six years)

Claude – Sixteen South
Doc McStuffins Christmas Special – Brown Bag Films
Pablo: Back and Forth – Paper Owl Films
Pete the Cat: Sandcastles – Amazon/Cartoon Saloon
Vampirina: Going Batty – Brown Bag Films

Best Animated Short Film

The Overcoat – Sean Mullen/Giant Animation
Angela’s Christmas – Damien O’Connor/Brown Bag Films
The Wireman – Jessica Patterson/JAM Media
Late Afternoon – Louise Bagnall/Cartoon Saloon
The Bird and the Whale – Carol Freeman/Paper Panther


Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to six years)

Becca’s Bunch: Acorn King – Amy Stephenson and Shane Langan
Claude – Ciarán Morrison and Mick O’Hara/Sixteen South
Peek Zoo – Emma Hogan/Dream Logic Studios
Mya Go Karting – Amy Stephenson and Shane Langan/Piranha Bar
Doc McStuffins Christmas Special – Chris Nee, Brown Bag Films

Best Writer for an Animated Series

Space Chickens in Space: Food Fight – Kristina Yee/Gingerbread Animation
Space Chickens in Space: Alpha Chuck – Mike Heneghan/Gingerbread Animation
Space Chickens in Space: Floofy Flibby Kiss-Kiss – Ciarán Morrison and Mick O’Hara/Gingerbread Animation
Transformers Cyberverse: Megatron Is My Hero – Peter Di Cicco/Boulder Media
Vampirina: Home Scream Home – Chris Nee/Brown Bag Films

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

Becca’s Bunch – Niall Mooney, Marc Bell, Mark Byrne/JAM Media
Brain Freeze 3 – Ian ‘Benjamin’ Kenny/ Kite Entertainment, Turnip and Duck
Space Chickens in Space – Paul Ruttledge/Gingerbread Animation
Cúl an Tí: Laoi an Lagáin – Lily Bernard and Cúl an Tí team/Cartoon Saloon
Pete The Cat: Blackout! – Amazon/Cartoon Saloon

Best Animation for Apps, Gaming and Interactive

Aurora – Pink Kong Studios
Eden Isle: Resort Paradise – Simteractive
Get Curious – Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Hungry Caterpillar Play School -Touchpress
Pablo’s Art World Adventure – Paper Owl Films

Best Design and Art Direction

The Bird and the Whale – Carol Freeman/Paper Panther Productions
Cúl An Tí: Fé Blath – Ross Stewart/Cartoon Saloon
Deposits -Trevor Courtney/Igloo Animations
Becca’s Bunch: Legendary – Conor Finnegan, Francisco de Borja Espana Guillot, Niall Mooney, Rafa Diaz Canales/ JAM Media
Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes – Hugh Farley and Ian Kenny

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

Danger Mouse – Aidan McAteer and Rob Cullen/ Boulder Media
Littlest Pet Shop – Gillian Comerford/Boulder Media
Peek Zoo – Kealan O’Rourke/Dream Logic Studios
Space Chickens in Space – Tommy and Markus Vad Flaaten/Gingerbread Animation
The Day Henry Met – Gary Gill/Wiggleywoo

Best Animation

Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes – Hugh Farley and Ian Kenny
Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree – Tim Frost/Ink and Light and Kinomind Films
Pete the Cat – John Peavoy, Dave Ridges, John Walsh/Cartoon Saloon
The Bird and the Whale – Eimhin McNamara and Carol Freeman/Paper Panther
Vampirina: Acrobat Boris – Matteo Ceccotti/Brown Bag Films Team

The third Irish Animation Awards will take place on 23 March 2019.